Three members of Academia Europaea awarded for distinction in their field

Three members of Academia Europaea awarded for distinction in their field

September has seen three members of the Academia Europaea awarded for excellence in their field. The Royal Society’s Copley Medal 2020 has been awarded to Sir Alan Fersht, the 2021 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics to Sir Martin Hairer and the 2020 Balzan Prize to Jean-Marie Tarascon.

From left to right: Sir Alan Fersht, Sir Martin Hairer and Jean-Marie Tarascon

The Copley Medal 2020 for Sir Alan Fersht FRS MAE

The Royal Society has announced that their oldest and most prestigious award, the Copley Medal, has been awarded to Sir Alan Fersht FRS MAE. The medal, thought to be the oldest scientific prize in the world, is awarded “for outstanding achievements in research in any branch of science”. Sir Alan, Director of the MRC Centre for Protein Engineering, “has developed and applied the methods of protein engineering to provide descriptions of protein folding pathways at atomic resolution, revolutionising our understanding of these processes.” Read more on the Royal Society website.

2021 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics for Sir Martin Hairer FRS MAE

Sir Martin Hairer FRS MAE of Imperial College London has been awarded the 2021 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematicsfor transformative contributions to the theory of stochastic analysis, particularly the theory of regularity structures in stochastic partial differential equations.” The Breakthrough Prizes are the largest prizes in science. The £3M prize is funded by Sergey Brin, Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg, Yuri and Julia Milner, and Anne Wojcicki. Read more here.

2020 Balzan Prize for Environmental Challenges: Materials Science for Renewable Energy for Professor Jean-Marie Tarascon ForMemRS MAE

Professor Jean-Marie Tarascon ForMemRS MAE, has been awarded the 2020 Balzan Prizefor his exceptional contributions to basic and applied research in the field of electrochemical energy storage. For his work that led to the rapid development of lithium-ion batteries for electric vehicles, and which improved our ability to manage electricity produced by intermittent renewable sources. For his drive in developing environmentally-friendly sodium-ion batteries.” The Balzan Prize is awarded by the International Balzan Prize Foundation. Four prizes are awarded every year to individuals or organisations who have made outstanding achievements in their field.

30th September 2020. For further information please contact

Share this page: