AE members among Royal Society medal and award winners

AE members among Royal Society medal and award winners

On 24th August, the Royal Society announced its medal and award winners for 2022. Among them, five MAEs were recognised for their achievements.

Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser DBE FRS MAE was awarded the Croonian Medal and Lecture “for playing a central role in two of the most important discoveries regarding the nature and perception of plant hormones, and for her contributions to gender equality in science.” Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser is the Chief Executive of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) and Regius Professor of Botany at the University of Cambridge.

Professor Stephen West FRS FMedSci MAE was awarded Royal Medal B “for discovering and determining the function of the key enzymes that are essential for recombination, repair and the maintenance of genomes.” Professor West is a biochemist and molecular biologist specialising in research on DNA recombination and repair at the Francis Crick Institute.

Professor Saiful Islam MAE has received the Hughes Medal, “for outstanding contributions to the deeper understanding of atomistic processes in new materials for use in energy applications, especially those related to lithium batteries and perovskite solar cells.” Saiful Islam is Professor of Materials Science at the University of Oxford.

Professor Charlotte Williams OBE FRS MAE has received the Leverhulme Medal for her pioneering work developing and understanding high performance carbon dioxide utilization catalysts and implementable processes. Charlotte Williams is Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Oxford.

Professor Iain McCulloch MAE has been awarded the Armourers and Brasiers Company Prize “for making fundamental contributions to the application of materials chemistry to organic electronic applications, with an applied, results-oriented focus, always demonstrating translational impact and commercial potential.” Iain McCulloch is Director of the KAUST Solar Center at the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology.

Vice-President of Academia Europaea, Professor Ole Petersen FRS MAE said,

“It is wonderful news that so many members have been recognised by the Royal Society. We congratulate them all on their success.”

Read the full list of 2022 winners.

26th August 2022. For further information please contact

Share this page: