Academia Europaea welcomes a new member in Wales

Academia Europaea welcomes a new member in Wales

Professor Ronan Lyons of Swansea University is among the newly elected scholars for 2022.

In 2022, 470 international scholars have been elected to the Academia Europaea, following a rigorous selection process. AE Cardiff is delighted that Professor Ronan Lyons, Clinical Professor of Public Health at Swansea University, is among those receiving the distinction and is joining the growing number of MAEs in Wales.  

About his recent election to the Academia Europaea, Professor Lyons said,

“It is a real honour to join the ranks of the prestigious Academia Europaea. This honour is a recognition of the shared efforts and hard work of the various teams and partners I’ve had the privilege of working with over the years. None more so than over the last two years, during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Through the European Population Health Information Research Infrastructure (PHIRI) Project we’re developing research infrastructure to generate the best COVID-19 population health knowledge. The multi-disciplinary, One Wales working group provided crucial evidence to Welsh Government’s response to COVID-19 community transmission and informed policy development across the UK. And the International COVID-19 Data Alliance (ICODA) partnership with Health Data Research UK and the Bills Gates Foundation and others, is supporting a globally coordinated approach to tackling Covid and future threats.

This has been an incredibly challenging period for us all and I’m enormously proud that these labours have been acknowledged and rewarded by this election.”

About Professor Ronan Lyons OBE FMedSci FLSW MAE

Professor Ronan Lyons OBE FMedSci FLSW MAE is Clinical Professor of Public Health at Swansea University and Co-director of SAIL Databank. Professor Lyons is also an Honorary Consultant with Public Health Wales NHS Trust and adjunct professor at the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine at Monash University (Australia). 

Professor Lyons was elected to the Learned Society of Wales in 2013. In 2021, he was awarded an OBE for services to research, innovation and public health. Professor Lyons was elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences and the Academia Europaea in 2022.

About Academia Europaea

Founded in 1988, Academia Europaea now has more than 5000 members, including more than 70 Nobel laureates. Our members are leading scientists and scholars who collectively promote excellence in research, learning and education in all fields of scholarship. Academia Europaea operates through a network of regional knowledge hubs in BarcelonaBergen, Budapest, Cardiff, Munich, Tbilisi and Wroclaw. The Cardiff Hub officially opened in 2016 and is hosted by Cardiff University.

More information about newly elected members

  • To find out about other newly elected members of Academia Europaea, visit the AE website
  • To find out more about the nomination process click here.

Posted 14th September 2022. For further information please contact

Share this page: