Democracy in the digital age

Democracy in the digital age

The European Group on Ethics publishes its latest Opinion, with input from a literature review by Cardiff.

The European Group on Ethics has published an Opinion on Democracy in the digital age, developed at the request of the European Commission President, Ursula von der Leyen. The Opinion makes a series of seven key recommendations on how democracy can be better protected in a digital age. The EC requested, through SAPEA, that Cardiff perform a literature review to inform the EGE’s work. The rapid review served to indicate some of the literature in what is a large body of published knowledge on the topic. It was coordinated by the Cardiff Hub, and undertaken in cooperation with information professionals at the Specialist Unit for Review Evidence (SURE) and the European Information Hub.

Read the EGE Opinion.

More about

EGE (European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies), is an independent advisory body of the President of the European Commission. The EGE provides independent advice on all aspects of Commission policies and legislation where ethical, societal and fundamental rights dimensions intersect with the development of science and new technologies. 

SAPEA (Science Advice for Policy by European Academies) produces independent evidence review reports that are used by the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors to make policy recommendations to the EC. This transparent process ensures that the EC’s proposals for policy and legislation are well-informed. Academia Europaea is a member of the SAPEA consortium.

SURE (Specialist Unit for Review Evidence) conducts systematic and literature reviews, investigates methodological innovation and provides consultancy and training services. The unit is based at Cardiff University.

Cardiff European Information Hub provides information and expertise concerning any matter relating to Europe, its countries and regions, its national and supranational organisations, including the activities and policies of the European Union (EU).

Posted 4th August 2023. For further information please contact

Share this page: