Professor Dianne Edwards MAE wins Frances Hoggan Medal 2021

Professor Dianne Edwards MAE wins Frances Hoggan Medal 2021

The Learned Society of Wales has announced that Professor Dianne Edwards MAE, highly respected member of AE Cardiff’s Steering Group, has won the Frances Hoggan Medal 2021

On 19th May, the Learned Society of Wales announced six new medallists in recognition of outstanding research and scholarship in Wales. Among those listed, Professor Dianne Edwards CBE FRS MAE FLSW, Distinguished Research Professor in Palaeobotany at Cardiff University, has been awarded this year’s Frances Hoggan Medal which celebrates outstanding research by women in STEMM subjects. Professor Edwards has been awarded “for her research into plant species, including those that existed over 400m years ago.”

Professor Ole Petersen, Vice- President of Academia Europaea and Academic Director of the AE Cardiff Hub has congratulated Professor Edwards:

“I am delighted to congratulate Dianne Edwards, one of our most distinguished Steering Group Members, with the award of the Learned Society of Wales’ prestigious Frances Hoggan’s medal. This is a very well deserved recognition of the outstanding research that Dianne has carried out over many decades, which has of course already resulted in many important honours including election to the Royal Society and the award of CBE.”

About Dianne Edwards MAE

Professor Edwards is renowned for her research in early land plant evolution. She is a former President of the Palaeontological Association (1996-1998) and Linnean Society of London, (2012–2015). She was awarded a CBE for Services to Botany in 1999.

Professor Edwards has played an integral role at the Learned Society of Wales. She was one its Founding Fellows and was later appointed as its inaugural Vice-President for Science, Technology and Medicine in 2010. She was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1996 and to the Academia Europaea in 2014. Professor Edwards has been a valued member of the AE Cardiff Hub Steering Group since the Hub was established in 2016.

Posted 24th May 2021. For further information please contact

Share this page: