Academia Europaea welcomes two new members in Wales

Academia Europaea welcomes two new members in Wales

Professor Simon Arnett Jones of Cardiff University and Professor Guo-Ping Liu of the University of South Wales are among the newly elected scholars for 2021.

Academia Europaea’s Board of Trustees has announced that 366 international scholars have been elected to the membership, following a rigorous peer review process. AE Cardiff is delighted that Professor Simon Arnett Jones of Cardiff University and Professor Guo-Ping Liu of the University of South Wales, are joining the growing number of MAEs in Wales.  

About his recent election to the Academia Europaea, Professor Jones said,

‘I feel honoured to have been elected Member of the Academia Europaea, and I am hugely grateful to my colleagues who nominated me. Over the years, I have been fortunate to work with some outstanding scientists and appreciate all the support and encouragement I received from my research team, Cardiff colleagues and collaborators from across the world. This award is very much a reflection of our group efforts in advancing inflammation and cytokine research.’

About Professor Simon Arnett Jones MAE

Simon Arnett Jones is Professor of Inflammation Biology and Co-Director and Lead for Multimorbidity at the Systems Immunity Research Institute at Cardiff University. He was previously Dean of Research at Cardiff University’s School of Medicine. His fields of scholarship include STAT transcription factors, inflammation and rheumatoid arthritis. In 2015 he was elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Biology and in 2019 to the Learned Society of Wales.

About Professor Guo-Ping Liu MAE

Professor Liu is Head of the Research Unit at the University of South Wales. His fields of scholarship includeneural networks, data analysis and signal processing. For five consecutive years (2013-2018), he was one of the most highly cited researchers in the field of engineering. He was listed in the ‘2014 World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds’ by Thomson Reuters. In 2011, Professor Liu became a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for his contribution to the theory and technology of networked control systems. He became a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) in 2009.

About Academia Europaea

Founded in 1988, Academia Europaea now has more than 4500 members, including more than 70 Nobel laureates. Our members are leading scientists and scholars who collectively promote excellence in research, learning and education in all fields of scholarship. Academia Europaea operates through a network of regional knowledge hubs in BarcelonaBergen, Budapest, Cardiff, Tbilisi and Wroclaw. The Cardiff Hub opened in 2016 and is hosted by Cardiff University.

All elected members are invited to accept the membership. Those who have already accepted and completed the registration process in 2021, are listed here. This list will continue to grow as new members complete the acceptance and registration process.

You may also be interested in this item

Interview Spotlight Series

Read our series of interviews with Members of Academia Europaea connected with the Cardiff Knowledge Hub. Our members share their career highlights and their views on key issues in research.

12th July 2021. For further information please contact

Share this page: